Tuesday 11.16.10 – Walker

This week’s big news is that I took an internship!

I’m putting an exclamation point on it even though it’s an internship. I thought I was done with those when I was 19. My feeling on the matter, to date, has been that I am too old, too smart, too qualified, and spent too much on the lovely parchment that graces a shelf in my bedroom to take another internship.

In the last year+ I have come to understand that in fact I am too young, not qualified enough, and fuck your degree, to land the job I want just yet. So I’m going to take that little step backwards, swallow my pride, and do some work for free.

Nonetheless, I am excited! My logic in looking for internships was simply that my days will be better spent doing something in the professional world than ballyhooing about in the valley. So at very worst I will have been kept occupied, and at very best it will magically morph into a brilliant high paying job. And I’ll probably learn something, which to me is almost – almost – as good as a paycheck.

The company is a music and entertainment start up that does two things that are completely unrelated to each other. First, they created an HD video recording booth – it’s kind of like a photo booth, but with HD video, green screen background, adjustable lighting, high quality audio, etc. They even have direct inputs for up to 4 instruments. It’s kind of cool… The other piece is a new audio mastering and remastering technology that allows us to exceed digital zero and create even warmer, fuller sounds. This is expected to blow up. And there are a lot of relatively influential people from all over the entertainment world involved in the venture. My new boss is very laid back and seems like he’ll be great to work with. There’s a chihuahua in the office… I hate chihuahuas, but I like the principle of having a dog in the office.

Now to teach myself to get up at 8am again. I’m pretty sure some of the vintage Walker three-jobs 16-hours non-stop tirelessness has gone dormant in the last 18 months of fluctuating schedules and working nights. We’ll get it back though. I imagine I’ll be good and wiped on days where I start in West Hollywood and wind up in Woodland Hills, but it will all be worth it.

Off for Korean BBQ with Jordan and Abraham (that’s Steve). yummmmmmm

Leave a comment