Daily Archives: October 11, 2010

10.11.10 Monday – Carlos

I’m learning so much here in Los Angeles.

Regardless of status, accomplishments, or what have you, people are just people.

The star struck factor has all but disapeared, and that i believe is necessary in order to succeed out here. Whether I’m talking to an Oscar winner, hanging with a  Tony winner on a regular basis, or collaborating with a big time director, as long as those people are cool, there accomplishments, while incredible, shouldn’t affect how i perceive them on a human level.

More learning LA 101.

No pun intended, but people in California FREAK the fuck out when it rains.

It rained for 4 days straight here, and it seemed like the highways shut down. I spent almost  2 hours driving 1 mile because a highway had been shut down due to “flooding”. Now in New England we call this a puddle, but when a little water builds up on the highway, you would think it was the apocalypse. Sad but true.

Opportunities.

The show we worked on has begun to pay dividends, personally and professionally, but I’ll elaborate more on that as the days pass.

Always know you’re on the clock. Never take a play off. Or you risk getting traded to the vikings.

(note: I started writing this last Thursday, and so much has happened since)

Rest in Peace Ricky.

A good man passed away in Boston on friday, and the news still has me in a bit of a stun.

In order to honor his memory, I won’t go into any more detail. but send my thoughts and prayers to his family and my family out there in Boston.

Women.

I have batted the idea of how to even approach this subject on my blog, and whether I should. But I will.

I’ve realized that I need to focus on myself, and even though the allure of sharing this hectic journey with someone else seems satisfying, appetizing, and easy. I just can’t. This is something only I can do. I’m destined to be alone and am ok with that for the time being. So Apologies.

That being said, I have been blessed to meet some wonderful people on this side of the country, and for that I am thankful.

Reality Shows.

My first college roommate is a producer. He produces cool shows. He has me testing out challenges for reality shows. They pay well. They are hard. (watermelon anyone?) I like it.

Sports.

I “worked” out 3 times last week, and beginning this week will work out 5 times, including softball, challenge testing and the gym. I realized that eating pie…the caloric kind…every night at midnight thanks to the glorious cooking of JKB, while delicious, is just not healthy. So, like a recovering crack whore,  i trembled as I said no thanks to her latest creation tonight. I plan on losing 10 lbs in 10 days. watch me.

Gay.

Alright, so the topic dujour has been the gay bullying and the gay rights, and the gay this and the gay that. Enough already with the a. senseless acts of violence and b. the stupid webcam videos about it. I get it Kesha, Ellen,NPH, Ricky Martin…we’ll all be fine…it just seems like a slight cop out when anything happens , 9/11, katrina, tsunami, haiti, this, that celebs feel the need to record a blurb telling us to do the right thing. I don’t think any of these ignorant fools who bully, bash or are assholes will end up seeing your video, so i am doubtful of it’s effectiveness. You want effectiveness, check this  out http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1649214/20101003/story.jhtml That’s how you raise awareness. Those are Emerson Students at their best. Proud.

Roommates

Jordan, Walker and Steve couldn’t be more awesome.

Music.

I’ve created an alias and have some tracks I am working on. Purely a HOBBY. Never again will I wander into the dirty cesspool of the music business.